Yahoo + Open Source Censorship. A second follow-up.

{Multi-post navigation}
Yahoo! Answers is rejecting Open-Source options in answers (the original post that started it all)

Follow-up: Yahoo Answers censoring Open-source options (a response to the first site to pick up my story)

Yahoo + Open Source Censorship. A second follow-up (responses to comments)

Yahoo Answers Censorship? Follow-up #3 (more responses to comments)

Yahoo Answers + Open Source Censorship. Yahoo’s reason and the question in… question.
Summary: A full recap with Yahoo’s official reason and the question at the center of this issue.

{The actual post}

  1. Malician Says:
    June 22nd, 2007 at 1:37 am e
    Well – I hate to allege shady dealings with Microsoft, though Yahoo has tight dealings with them. Normally, I could see Yahoo annoyed at what might look as a recommendation for another product – but Linux Live CDs are free, and – it’s not like you can get a free Windows Live CD, is it?I don’t see what serious qualm they could possibly have.(Me)
    I don’t know what the issue was either – her computer was toast. She was asking where she could get a restore CD or how much XP CD’s / DVD’s were. Hence my wording – “If you’re going to wipe it anyways…”
  2. Niklas Says:
    June 22nd, 2007 at 3:46 am e
    Now I’m 100% sure that I’ll never use any Yahoo services (not because I do anyway). This just isn’t democratic. What about freedom of speech?! Even though I’m not the big open source fan, I think this is very wrong and shouldn’t have happened. But normal people can’t do anything about it, but stop using Yahoo’s services(Me)
    I think what happened was that some MS fans didn’t like my suggestions and flagged me. It happens…
  3. John D Says:
    June 22nd, 2007 at 4:51 am e
    Yahoo! Answers isn’t rejecting Open-Source options in answers .. Someone is having a problem with Windows XP, and your suggestions is to simply wipe it all .. Come on .. It’s like a dentist pulling a tooth, if there’s a small cavity. Instead of actually helping helping, You are endorsing a product that You yourself prefer.

    (Me)
    Perhaps my Canadian subtlety doesn’t come across quite the right way. Her computer wasn’t reparable with what she had; she was looking at restore CDs and considering buying XP CDs. These wipe the hard drive. I figured I’d give her a way to both save money and try something new.
    On a tangent – when was the last time you tried Linux?

    That long, eh? *giggles*

  4. Aaangel Says:
    June 22nd, 2007 at 5:26 am e
    Your little thread here made it to a danish tech news site -)Anyway this is completely and utter BS, if this is how Yahoo does their business, I’m actually glad I’ve never used Yahoo at all.Regards,
    Aaangel

    (Me)
    That explains the small pile of “Please Moderate” e-mails I got today, thanks for the heads up! I think it was a combo of some MS fans flagging my comment and the person at Yahoo not reading / knowing enough about what I was talking about. It happens.

    The reason I put this out there is to find out if it’s a pattern or just a one time mistake. I haven’t found that many people that have had the same complaint, so it’s a limited issue. Not a one-of-a-kind problem, though… there are other people out there with the same complaint. It’s just limited from what I can see.

  5. Peter Says:
    June 22nd, 2007 at 5:39 am e
    Well, your answer isn’t strictly relevant, is it?What if I have asked for a solution to my Mac OS X problems, and some one replied that I should forget about OS X and only use Windows instead (which can be run on my Mac through BootCamp).However, despite the question of relevance, I agree in your view on censorship.

    (Me)
    I think pointing out the options is always relevant.

    If your Mac OS install was beyond repair, you didn’t have a restore disk, were hesitant about getting the OS disks because of the cost, no one could fix it without blowing your budget… and someone mentioned an alternative that doesn’t cost you much (a favour from a friend, computer time, a couple downloads and a CD)… wouldn’t you want that?

    There are versions of Ubuntu that run on Macs… give it a try (No risk involved… except maybe liking it)
    Ubuntu saved my butt back when I was using Windows – Windows was having some serious issues (freezing every 5 minutes, etc) and I had something due online that night. I put in the Ubuntu CD and was able to what I needed.

  6. Alvis Says:
    June 22nd, 2007 at 6:18 am e
    I look forward to finding out if Yahoo ever gives you a real answer.

    (Me)
    I’ve e-mailed them four times and each time I got an auto-reply. I seriously doubt they’ll ever respond. The time the question (wherever it is) expires on the server is also coming up.

    The level of interest you (plural) have shown, shows me that people care about stuff like this – and perhaps this has gotten back to Yahoo. I can dream that they’ve made a new point in their training that not ALL free software is illegal.
    Yeah, I know… not likely. *laughs*

5 Responses to “Yahoo + Open Source Censorship. A second follow-up.”

  1. archimerged Says:

    The Wikipedia article on Yahoo Answers indicates that deletion of answers in response to a flood of complaints is not uncommon.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yahoo_answers#Complaint_system

    They also reference this page:

    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/answers/abuse/wrongful_violations.html

    Have you followed that procedure?

  2. archimerged Says:

    I used this search on Yahoo Answers: “windows xp restore friend”, and found a question that sounds very similar. It says “one month ago” but doesn’t give a date, so it probably isn’t the question.
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AmYG5FIWMu7xYAr8XE3dlxQjzKIX?qid=20070512210835AAMQL7z
    Restoring Windows XP home with a pro disc?

    I recently got a computer from a friend but it needs to be restored. The problem is he has none of the discs that came with it. It’s a Dell with XP Home edition loaded in it. I was gonna buy a friends Windows XP Pro edition disc for really cheap but i was wondering if i would be able to restore it’s system files with a XP pro disc?

  3. Amanda Kerik’s WordPress Blog Follow-up: Yahoo Answers censoring Open-source options « Says:

    […] Yahoo + Open Source Censorship. A second follow-up. Summary: Comments flooded in after my post was reposted on a “danish tech news site”. My responses to comments from: Malician, Niklas, John D, Aaangel, Peter and Alvis. […]

  4. Roy Carin Says:

    Hello Amanda.

    I would appreciate it if you would post a link to the original question so that I can attempt to verify your claim for myself.

    The original post’s text is in one of the later posts on this topic. I appreciate that you want to take a firm and thorough look at the issue before deciding. Sorry about the delay.
    Amanda

  5. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    The beauty of this world is you don’t have to, but to make sure you understand all of what I’m saying, read the post that has all the info in it.
    Amanda


Leave a Reply

