Choice Birthday Present of the Year: Deafness (rant)

This is a personal entry, and more of a rant, so don’t expect a lot of info that will help you… except to feel schadenfreude.

My upstairs neighbours have been blasting loud music for hours… since about 4 in the afternoon. I’ve banged on the walls, asked them to turn it down (not off, mind you) twice.

I got attitude. “It’s ok with the landlord”, who, by the way, has moved and hasn’t informed me of the new address. “It’s my daughter’s birthday” was the other one, from the uncle as he walked away from the house.

All requests have fell on deaf ears. Mine are going deaf too… the walls are shaking and on some of the more bass-rich songs the glasses in my china cabinet have shook and vibrated.

I’ve tried to call the landlord, just got the answering machine.

I’m faced with two options:

  1. Blow the circuit that the stereo is on (either by plugging in two space heaters or going to the breaker box and flipping the switch.
  2. Go for a walk and take my landlord to arbitration.
    1. On a side note, because I don’t have the new address for the landlord, any papers dropped off at his old house probably won’t make it to him. If he doesn’t show up, it’s automatically in my favour.
    2. Both the neighbours and the landlords are self-absorbed jerks who would screw you out of anything. I’ve had my garden mown down 4 times in the 2 years I’ve lived here. This is just one example.
Leave a Reply

