I forgot how annoying Windows is!

Ok, now most of the time I’m in Linux, so I tend to forget what a POS Windows is… But I’ve kept my copy of XP on this computer purely for gaming reasons. That’s right – XP is a gaming console for me.

Anyways, I was on here playing Black and White and all of a sudden it was freezing and lagging horribly. Now, I’m used to the 3 second hiccough (that’s hiccup to you Americans – I’m Canadian and therefore use more of the proper English, but I digress) that the game has when it checks for the CD but this was minutes long.

Maybe it’s because I’m spoiled and I’m used to everything right f-ing now and with only minimal hassle (especially on the computer – my domain) but this was the last straw!

I got into the Task Manager to see what the problem was – my anti-virus was running. Now you have to understand, it normally starts up with boot-up, but I found it annoying to wait for yet another program to load … especially when it doesn’t do real-time scanning.

Oh, my anti-virus was AVG, if you’re interested.

So I found it in the list and killed it and the other processes like it and tried to play my game… nope, still lagging. I found a couple more I missed and … Black and White was taking huge resources.

I shut the damn thing down (losing my game, but it was a skirmish) and got the annoyances gone. How? I un-installed AVG and I’m using ClamWin now – it waits in it’s corner until I say it’s ok to scan.

I also got fed up with the hiccuping and whatnot from Black and White. I found a couple no-cd replacements for it’s main program and now my computer’s happy again.

For now…

Leave a Reply

